Zune is better than iPod

If you don’t believe me, view the chart here.

I had a Zune 30, a Zune 80, and my Zune 120 is coming in the mail.  Here are my top 5 reasons that the Zune is better.

Face it.  Zune rocks.

Face it. Zune rocks.

Zune 120 VS iPod Classic

  1. FM Radio Tuner:  The Zune makes listening to the radio possible (which means I can watch and hear TV at the gym – sorry iPod users).  Beyond that, I can purchase/download songs from the radio directly to my cart/Zune.
  2. Wireless:  The WiFi built into the Zune allows for multi player games (I can play checkers/etc with another nearby Zune user; games come pre-loaded and you can download software to make your own games).  Wireless also offers streaming audio to the device (I can listen to whatever song I want whenever I want as long as I am in a WiFi zone and have a Zune pass), and wireless file share/sync to computer (I can send picture albums, podcasts, and songs/albums to a nearby Zune – I can aslo sync wirelessly with my computer).
  3. Build – Screen Size and Squircle: The screen is larger for the Zune making all the difference.  In addition the navigation is easy and logical.  Up means up, down means down, etc – fancy that iPod users.
  4. Zune Pass/Software: For $15 a month, you can  have unlimited downloads, unlimited streaming music on demand, and you can keep ten songs a month forever.  This works on three computers so I’m splitting it with two other people.  That means I get unlimited downloads, unlimited streaming music, and can keep 3 songs per month for about $60 a year.  Incredible.  Not only that, but the software is easy to use, and has incredible music discovery elements, and is very slick looking.
  5. Microsoft makes mistakes, but Macintosh makes intentional, mean decisions and rude (in some cases outright dishonest) commercials.

Zune 120 VS 32 GB iPod Touch

  1. Zune is $250 (about half of the 32 GB touch)
  2. Zune has 120 GB (more than 3 times the size of the 32 GB touch)
  3. FM Radio Tuner:  The Zune makes listening to the radio possible (which means I can watch and hear TV at the gym – sorry iPod users).  Beyond that, I can purchase/download songs from the radio directly to my cart/Zune.
  4. Zune Pass/Software: For $15 a month, you can  have unlimited downloads, unlimited streaming music on demand, and you can keep ten songs a month forever.  This works on three computers so I’m splitting it with two other people.  That means I get unlimited downloads, unlimited streaming music, and can keep 3 songs per month for about $60 a year.  Incredible.  Not only that, but the software is easy to use, and has incredible music discovery elements, and is very slick looking.
  5. Microsoft makes mistakes, but Macintosh makes intentional, mean decisions and rude (in some cases outright dishonest) commercials.

To me the choice is clear – the Zune blows the iPod out of the water.  Where am I going wrong here?

-DM

2 comments so far

  1. JW on

    RE: Zune vs iPod Classic
    1. I’ll give you this one. (You can buy FM transmitters for iPods if you want them)
    2. Zune WiFi is very crippled with limited utility. You can download games for iPod Classic via iTunes.
    3. The screen resolution on the Zune & iPod classic is identical (320×240).
    4. How is the selection of songs? It’s value diminished if the only songs you can get are in genre’s you don’t like. That being said, Zune Pass is not a bad deal, It is unlikely I would get an equivalent service if apple were to offer one. If I had teenage children, I would be more interested in that type of service though.
    5. There is nothing dishonest about promoting the existence of the “Shazam” app on iPhone. Apple had nothing to gain from accidentally shipping a few iPods with a windows virus on them.

    ZUNE vs 32 GB iPod Touch
    1. You failed to mention the 8GB touch that sells for $229. You can get a 120 GB iPod classic for $250. The MSRP on a 16GB touch is $299.
    2. If you need 120GB you can always buy the iPod classic mentioned above. That extra space is only valuable if you need it. If you have a small media library or wise use of the smart playlist features in iTunes most people can get by with 8 or 16 GB iPod touched (I use about 12GB of space on my iPod for audio). The reason why Apple no longer makes a 160GB iPod is that no one wanted that much space in an iPod.
    3. If you can get a WiFi signal you can listen to internet radio on your touch. I download podcasts and listen to those on my iPod.
    4. See #4 above.
    5. See #5 above.

    What you’re missing:
    iTunes App store. Real WiFi internet on iPod touch. Larger screen on iPod touch (3.5″ 480×320). Touch interface. Accelerometer use in apps. Slimmer form factor (touch vs Zune 80+).

    I want the Zune to continually improve and provide healthy competition with apple, because the consumer usually loses when there’s a single player dominating a market.

  2. davidmay on

    The above comment has a few good points, but here is the retort:

    VS Classic
    1) Thanks.
    2) Explain how – I have had nothing but success with the WiFi, granted you can’t browse the web… but the same is true for the iPod classic… it does not have ANY WiFi options at all.
    3) I’m not talking about resolution – I’m talking about the actual size of the screen. See picture in post.
    4) Selection is AWESOME. I know someone who likes obscure Broadway musicals and they are even on there more often than not. Zune pass rules.
    5) Apple wants people to think they invented the Mp3 player, the smart phone, and Shazam amongst other things. They should be giving credit where credit is due. Instead they take credit for other ideas and then make fun of the competition. I just want them to play nice. If their products were actually better, they would not have to slander the competition.

    VS TOUCH
    1)Yea, but it’s only 8GB. My phone is twice that big. Why would you ever pay for a iPod Classic when you could get a Zune?
    2) If you have a small library, you should be getting the 4, 8, or 16 GB Zune (again, radio, wireless, etc is better).
    3) If you can get a WiFi signal you can listen to whatever song you want whenever you want with the Zune pass… and if there is no WiFi you can just listen to the radio. True on ALL Zunes.
    4) See above
    5) See above

    What you’re missing:
    1) Zune pass is unstoppable. As far as phone like apps, I don’t need my mp3 player to do what my phone can.
    2) Again, I don’t need my mp3 player to do what my phone already can.
    3) I’ll give you that, the screen is bigger on the iPod touch. Unfortunately it’s storage does not allow for many videos… which is what the big screen would be for.

    We definitely agree there. That’s the same reason I want Apple to continue to do well – hopefully it will kick Microsoft’s butt back into gear.

    Good debate! Best wishes,

    -dm


Leave a Reply

